AHF Award Program

Award winners are recognized at the Annual Conference each year. 


Benefits of AHF National Awards

Being selected and highlighted as a national award winner is a high honor that recognizes your work and that of your team. It is also a fantastic way to gain internal recognition from your administrators and facility for your department’s contributions.

Award winners receive free conference registration as well as $600 of travel funding to attend the annual conference and receive their awards. For the Partnership & Leadership Award both award winners receive support. 

AHF will send a letter to your administrator and PR/Marketing department notifying them of your award. We will offer your administrator free conference registration to attend and watch you receive your recognition.

AHF will also produce a short video detailing your award and project and highlighting you. We will continue to celebrate our award recipients in our publications, like S.O. Connected, following the conference. Finally, we will release press release(s) of our awards. Award winners will be announced prior to the Annual Conference. 

Review our 2023 winners below and then start planning your application for our 2024 awards!

  • Selection Process

  • Once you have submitted the award nomination, the awards committee will review all the submissions and select finalists using scoring criteria for each award. The Awards Committee is made up of a mix of business partners, operators, and other AHF members. Members of the committee will then interview finalists for each award to gather additional information prior to determining the winner for each category. A finalist will then be selected for each award. You will be given an opportunity to further support what you have included in the form submission. If you have any questions about the application process or supporting documentation, please contact AHF Staff.
  • Our awards are competitive and we cannot highlight all those who submit. We encourage you to resubmit if you were not selected in years past. 

Questions? Contact Sarah Bennett – sbennett@healthcarefoodservice.org

2023 AHF Award Winners

Each year AHF is pleased to highlight the best of the self-operated foodservice industry in senior living and healthcare. AHF awards operators and business partners for their contributions across multiple awards. The 2023 Awardees are:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Mary Cooley & Tom Cooley

Making A Difference Award: Karen Horsley, Sysco Corporation

Exemplary Leadership Award: Ryan Conklin, UNC Rex Healthcare

Future Horizons Award: Christopher Voorman, The House of the Good Shepherd at Riverwalk Village

Partnership & Leadership Award: David Reeves & Armando Llecho, Lee Memorial Health System

Spotlight Award: Caroline Parcel, Hunterdon Health

Sustainability Award: Lisa Yeung, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer

Benchmarking Excellence Award: Julie Meddles, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

Chapter of the Year Award: AHF NY Chapter

Presidential Service Awards: Ami Patel, UCSF Medical Center, Mission Bay and Sergio Alonso, Lee Memorial Health System